BBC National Orchestra of Wales at Brangwyn Hall

C Sat 20th Jan 2018   P Brangwyn Hall

BBC National Orchestra of Wales

Enjoy a fantastic performance of Beethoven by the BBC National Orchestra of Wales

Clara Mouriz: Mezzo
Alan Clayton: Tenor
Matthew Rose: Bass
Xian Zhang: Conductor

Beethoven’s symphonic cycle ends with nothing less than a mighty rallying call to all humanity. Its daring and at times outlandish writing has sparked debate ever since its premiere in 1824. Despite that, who can fail to be swept up by his Ode to Joy and vision of arcadia?

Finding the right partner piece for the ninth is always a challenge. Huw Watkins, described as ‘one of the most rounded composer-musicians in the UK’ (Financial Times) and BBC NOW’s composer-in-residence, steps boldly into the breach.

Huw Watkin: New Work (BBC Radio 3 commission)
Beethoven: Symphony No. 9


Tickets: £15 – £20 reserved

01792 475715

Keep in touch

Sign up to our Newsletter for updates and offers