Rachmaninov 2 with Martyn Brabbins
Book now!

Caroline Shaw
The Observatory
Maurice Ravel
Piano Concerto in G major
Béla Bartók
Concerto for Orchestra

BBC National Orchestra of Wales
Giancarlo Guerrero conductor
Sergio Tiempo piano

Caroline Shaw
Maurice Ravel
Béla Bartók

Caroline Shaw’s The Observatory sees its UK premiere – blending chaos and clarity, foreground and background, the piece is inspired by a trip to the Griffin Observatory near the Hollywood Bowl and explores new ways of looking at the universe, melding old and new in a stream of consciousness that never quite ends where it began.

Ravel’s iconic piano concerto, rich with lyrical contrast, jaunty tunes and richly intricate piano lines is performed by the inimitable Sergio Tiempo as he makes his debut with BBC NOW. A pure celebration of music and instrument colours, Bartók’s folk-flecked Concerto for Orchestra closes this breath-taking programme, conducted by the illustrious Grammy Award Winning Costa Rican conductor, Giancarlo Guerrero.

Book tickets

10 May 2024
Brangwyn Hall
Book this event